Lincolnshire within England

The Gainsborough constituency within Lincolnshire

The Gainsborough constituency was created for the 1885 general election, after the extension of the franchise through the Representation of the People Act 1884 (“Third Reform Act”) and the reorganisation of constituencies through the Redistribution of Seats Act 1885.

From 1983, it was named Gainsborough & Horncastle before reverting to its original name of Gainsborough in 1997.

The constituency is entirely within Lincolnshire and has a total population of 81,596. It is centred on town of Gainsborough but also includes the West Lindsey District and the Wragby ward of the East Lindsey District.

Edward Leigh was first elected to represent the people of Gainsborough in the general election of 1983. At the 2010 general election, Edward Leigh was re-elected with 24,266 votes (a majority of 10,559) out of 49,251 voters.

© Edward Leigh | The House of Commons is not responsible for the content of this website.